Monday, April 20, 2009

Sales Tax Holiday Information

The Sales Tax Holiday, which runs from April 19-25, means a savings of at least 4.225 percent sales tax fee to people who purchase new ENERGY STAR ® qualified appliances in Missouri during the holiday. The reduced price represents the elimination of the state's sales tax from the purchase.
Several local governmental entities have also opted to participate in the holiday. This means that some purchases will be exempt not just from the state sales tax, but also city, county and special district sales taxes. Nine counties, 57 cities and eight special districts have opted to participate in the holiday. Anyone who buys a qualified appliance in Missouri that has earned the ENERGY STAR will be exempt from paying the state sales tax. ENERGY STAR is a joint program of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The program allows manufacturers of appliances to voluntarily label selected appliances if they meet certain criteria. The goal is to promote appliances that perform as well or better than similar appliances while using less energy. The program has saved businesses and consumers billions of dollars since its inception in 1992.ENERGY STAR-certified appliances that qualify for the sales tax exemption are: Clothes washers Refrigerators Freezers Dishwashers Water heaters Furnaces Air conditioners Heat pumps The sales tax exemption only applies to the first $1,500 on each appliance. If an appliance costs more than $1,500, the regular sales tax rate is in effect for any of the purchase price above $1,500.Examples of appliances NOT eligible for the sales tax exemption are clothes dryers, trash compactors, conventional ovens, ranges and stoves. Lighting fixtures, office equipment, home electronics and other non-appliance ENERGY STAR labeled-products are also not eligible for the sales tax exemption. Counties that have opted to participate in the holiday and have eliminated their county sales taxes on qualified purchases are: Adair, Crawford, Daviess, Gasconade, Johnson, Morgan, Pettis, Ripley and Ste. Genevieve.Participating cities are: Airport Drive, Arnold, Aurora, Ava, Bethany, Bowling Green, Branson West, Brookfield, Butler, Carrollton, Cottleville, Dardenne Prairie, Desloge, Dexter, Fenton, Fredericktown, Fulton, Gladstone, Hannibal, Hazelwood, Hermann, Hillsboro, Ironton, Jackson, Kahoka, Kansas City, Kirksville, Lexington, Macon, Marble Hill, Maryville, Memphis, Mexico, Osceola, Overland, Pacific, Perryville, Platte City, Raymore, Republic, Richmond, Rock Hill, Rock Port, Rolla, Salem, Salisbury, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, Sunset Hills, Tarkio, Town & Country, Union, Unionville, Warrensburg, Warsaw, Washington and Willow Springs. Additional information regarding the Show-Me Green
Sales Tax Holiday can be obtained at or e-mail the Department of Revenue at: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it .
From an article written by Matt Newport

No comments: